The Eve of Christmas Eve

I have always loved the magic of Christmas and look forward to the traditions that we undertake each year such as choosing and collecting the tree, untangling the fairy lights and making the cake. Each year also brings the opportunity to start new traditions such as making gingerbread houses and producing homemade gifts such as candles or soap but I always seem to have more pressing things to do…. so I’ve asked Father Christmas for a little more free time in 2013 πŸ™‚

Source - Pinterest

Source – Pinterest

Isn’t it funny, I realised that I had finally grown up one Christmas when the things I wished for were not things at all… I wished for good health, peace of mind, happiness, security and a loving family and friends. A cliche it may be but it’s oh so true. I used to have a job that required me to work all sorts of shifts including on Christmas Day and I used to be so envious of people who could be at home. I am really lucky that my work is now Monday to Friday Β and I don’t have to work main holidays so I can be at home – I will never take this for granted.

Garlic Planted

I really wanted to plant the garlic on Friday but due to the persistent rain (and the fact that the end of the world was predicted so it would have been a waste of time) the planting was postponed until today. It was soooo good to get back into the garden! I feel like I’ve been very neglectful of it lately as the rain has stopped play for weeks. As the gate creaked closed behind me I could almost hear it squeak “there you are”.

Source - pinterest

Source – pinterest

So as the final ribbon is carefully wrapped around the presents and the stockings are waiting to be filled I’m going to put on my christmas pyjamas and get the party started! Christmas Eve is so exciting around here that we even have an Eve of Christmas Eve celebration! I’ve always loved the anticipation of Christmas as much as the day itself (if not more) and I still go to bed hoping to hear sleigh bells overhead….

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas – let’s share a virtual glass of cold champagne and toast the spirit of Christmas! x x x

21 thoughts on “The Eve of Christmas Eve

  1. You are a wonderful spirit and I loved your post today as always. I especially smiled at the garden gate creaking “oh there you are”…delightful PJ. I also used to work shift work and holidays. Since we had no children, I would always differ to co-workers with kids, but I really, really love being at home. I’m so very lucky. I still run out of time on things (??). I really liked the wooden tree you’ve shared from Pinterest….scooping that πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful Christmas PJ, cheers x

  2. Glad you were able to get out in your garden! My garden has been very confused with our up and down temperatures…one day it is winter and the next feels like spring. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and get all you wish for! xx

  3. You are so creative and make such lovely things.
    Pleased to hear the rains stopped, it might be Christmas so if it is dry for an hout tomorrow the garlic gets planted.
    Hope Santa brings you your hearts desire

  4. More time in 2013 sounds wonderful! I’m hoping to make it so I can at least focus more of my time and energy on the things I want to and less on the 9-5 job. πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas to you!

  5. I have applied for 4 more hours in the day from 2013 and onwards, I have filled in the application, just not sure where to send it! If you can fix a deal with Santa for both of us it would be great! More time to work in the garden and all those creative projects on the laptop πŸ™‚
    I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas and all the best for 2013!

  6. This is such a lovely post. I would like more time too!!!! I feel like I’ve even had none over Christmas?! Hope you had a wonderful time and best wishes for 2013 xx

    • Hi Malinda and Happy New year to you too! I hate the task taking decorations down too and have the temptation to just throw them in a box… but then I think how excited I am each year unwrapping each decoration and know it’s worth it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

