Chocolate Cosmos

It was International Chocolate Day yesterday and thanks to Cathy from Words and Herbs it didn’t completely pass me by. Her post made me laugh… especially when I discovered that chocolates are afraid of heights (which mean that they’ll jump off the top of cupboards to save themselves!).

It should be no surprise that the Chocolate Cosmos (cosmos astrosanguineus – yes, I’m trying to include the Latin names!) is one of my favourite plants. It’s still in flower by the garage and the bees are loving it too. It has such a rich velvety colour and there is a faint smell of chocolate and vanilla so what’s not to love? It’s one of the most sniffed plants in my garden!

33 thoughts on “Chocolate Cosmos

  1. It is a very pretty plant. I’ve only smelled one before at a garden centre and would love to know if it tastes as good as it smells! (But I doubt it is edible!) Thanks for the mention! 😀

  2. I love this plant too. I put chocolate high up, not because of calories being afraid of heights, but to stop the smalls eating my chocolate.

    • I’ve tried, unsucessfully, to grow them from seeds. They germinate really easily but the slugs go absolutely mad for the sappy little plants and absolutely destroy them.
      This year I bought a mature plant that was already in bud and kept it against the wall (surrounded by gravel) and thankfully it’s only been the bees that have been attracted!

  3. Oh how decidant, and what’s not to like, pretty and smells yummy. I’ve never seen them for sale here, but I have a friend who’s loves chocolate, so I will have to see if I can track some down.

  4. I love chocolate cosmos, but didn’t get a plant this year – now I’ve seen your photo I wish I had! Have you tried chocolate mint? It’s not as pretty, but the leaves smell and taste like After Eights!

  5. I’ve noticed this cosmos in the seed catalogs, and since it’s been such a hit for you, I’m going to have to give it a try next year. My cosmos cherries double click did not do well in the vegas garden, but we’ll have more conducive temps when we move to san jose at then of the year. can’t wait for the chocolate perfume!!!

  6. Wow, I will have to grow this one! I have been threatening to get extravagant and order some cocoa mulch for my raised beds, even if it only smells for a day or two, I think it would be worth it!

Leave a Reply

