Let It Rain

The rain has been awful… this morning whilst at work the sky very quickly darkened. It was strange and eerie and nobody could believe how quickly the sky had turned black! In fact, all over town street lights were turning on as if it was dusk. My first concerns were for the poor chickens… they surely must be terrified?! I then had a reassuring thought… if it was dark enough for the street lights to be fooled then hopefully the chickens will be fooled and safely go and roost!

And what would happen to the Kitchen Garden? It’s just starting to be productive and the sweetpeas are starting to flower…  Oh well, worrying wasn’t going to help the situation!

So, like a regular Pollyanna, I decided to play the Glad Game and look on the bright side of this particular storm…

I’m glad to have a chance to wear a favourite rain coat that was put away after Spring…..

I’m glad (more like ecstatically happy) to indulge my umbrella addiction a some more. I learnt a while ago that they only get lost if you take them for granted…

And it reminded me how desperately I need to buy new wellies! My last ones split, so in my wisdom, I decided to hold off buying a new pair until the weather started to get chilly again in Autumn!! I love the Hunter wellies but I’m spoiled for choice when it comes to colour… the red ones are great but my favourite colour is purple. The Navy Blue ones are classic but the glossy Raspberry ones look so much fun. Decisions, decisions….

I arrived home to a flooded driveway, no power and a flattened peony – but I’m so glad that my lovely chickens looked dry and well… and the Kitchen Garden was pretty much unscathed! If it stops raining over the weekend I’ll take some more photos 🙂

22 thoughts on “Let It Rain

  1. Our grass squishes when you walk on it! Too much rain! I love those raspberry colored wellies. If I’m going to be serious about gardening, I’m going to have to get myself a pair 🙂 Glad to hear the garden and chickens are o.k.!

  2. We need rain desperately here and will be in the 100’s for the next several days. I’m hoping for thunderstorms to cool things off and fill my rain barrels. I love how lush and green your first picture is.

  3. So sorry about the rain! On the other hand, it is better than not enough. The wild fires in our country are out of control this year, but in rainy old Washington, We’re sittin’ pretty (wet).
    We have had a bit of sun lately, though, so I am wishing over your way.
    Hoping you have a pretty and dry week end….

    • It just seems to be extremes of weather – flash floods in some areas of the country have ruined homes and livelihoods. Many people who live in low lying areas are unable to afford home insurance anymore. Pictures of cars being swept away and elderly people being rescued are hard to believe… especially as other parts of England are having a proper Summer! I agree whole heartedly though Susan… rather this than uncontrollable wild fires! And I’m so glad I don’t have to water my garden… but you should see my lawn!

      • Oh wow, so sad to hear what is going on in your country.
        I was in England years ago and it was so incredibly beautiful. Destruction is destruction whether by fire or rain.
        May you and your country be blessed with sunshine.

    • Isn’t it strange that the same small country can have such extreme weather? I hope the good weather continues for the Olympics and Wimbledon.
      Your new wellies sound lovely – your better prepared than me. Thankyou for nominating me… it’s very kind of you x

  4. I would def go for the raspberry colloured wellies, so much fun. I didnt put away my ones neither. I need them at least twice a week, so much rain here as well. I feel with you 🙂

    • It’s amazing how much we all rely on moderate weather conditions… too much or too little rain destroys wildlife, homes and lives. I wish I could ship our rainfall over to the US… it’s especially awful to see the wildfire pictures devastating Colorado at the moment x

Leave a Reply

