Looking Forward

Time flies when you’re having fun so I shouldn’t be that surprised that it’s been 3 months since I started The Pyjama Gardener blog!

One of my (many) shortcomings is my incredibly poor attention span… I don’t think I’ve ever got past the February post when faced with a paper diary. In fact, many of my failed New Year resolutions have been to complete a diary (yet another shortcoming!). This is one of the reasons that I have multiple raised beds… they keep my interest for a longer period of time and each one is a different flavour!

So with time ticking by I’ve decided to look forward instead of back! Here are a few photos of various plants in my garden now (looking quite weedy)… and how I hope they will look in the Summer. All the “after” shots are from Pinterest so please forgive me if my Summer lovelies don’t live up to the hype!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The carrots have finally peeked through and then instantly regretted it when the hail storm came. Luckily, they’re tougher than they look and I’m looking forward to my first crop to make into Honey Glazed baby carrots….

This peony has done really well and I’m looking forward to the beautiful bloom… yes, that’s right I said bloom, as it only has one bud on it at the moment! The Kitchen Garden will hopefully provide flowers and herbs as well as fruit and vegetables for most of the year. Thankfully there is a market in a nearby town that will supplement my need for cut flowers if my plan fails!

The strawberries seem to be doing well in the teracotta pot and l’m looking forward to eating them in time for Wimbledon! I don’t follow tennis, and the weather is usually terrible, but I am partial to fresh strawberries and cream. Mmm….

I finally received my Wallflowers from Sarah Raven and potted them up into the green containers either side of the Kitchen Garden gate. I’m not sure if these plants are rabbit proof … but I’m sure to know by the weekend. Any signs of teeth mark and they’ll be moved to the other side of the gate!

I’m looking forward to the next three months so rabbits beware!

21 thoughts on “Looking Forward

    • The tallest bed is about 3ft tall and the rabbits managed to jump up there and have a party (we have video evidence!).
      Peonies are beautiful so it’s a shame you can’t grow them in Florida… but thinking about it, I wish I could grow oranges! Lovely to hear from you, thanks for taking time to comment.

    • Hi Elaine – the variety is the one shown in the picture. If you go onto her website you’ll find it under “Erysimum Winter Orchid” and it should look lovely when it blooms!

  1. Your carrots look much better than mine. I don’t know what happened but they just never took off. Soon it will be far to warm for them so I will be pulling them to make space for more summer veggies. So far the rabbits haven’t touched my wallflower. Hopefully they will leave yours alone. Love watching Wimbledon every year. The strawberries they serve always look incredible! I hope you get a bumper crop.

  2. I can relate! I’ve never been able to keep a diary either, and I have the shortest attention span ever! I have more unfinished projects than I’d care to admit. So far your garden is looking good!

    • I’m lucky that I married someone with far more tenacity and patience than myself… so at least one of us completes projects (although the woollen scarf that is half finished in my cupboard may be even beyond his limits of patience!).

    • I realise that 3 months is nothing in the world of blog but my great capacity for unfinished projects means this is a milestone for me! Congratulations on your 1st birthday !

Leave a Reply

