Earth Day Reading Project

Michelle at The Sage Butterfly is hosting the Earth Day Reading Project, a meme where bloggers share which books inspire them to live or garden more sustainably. If you want to participate then all you need to do is write a blog post about a book that has inspired you to live/garden more sustainably or inspires your love of nature. The Earth Day Reading Project runs to April 30, so you can include your post at any time by linking into The Sage Butterfly

 There are so many books that have inspired or informed my gardening and lifestyle that I thought that it would be difficult choose just one… my book shelves groan from the weight of books and I love each and everyone of them! Surprisingly, a task that should have taken much consideration actually took no time at all… the book is neither academic, innovative or even factual I’m afraid. It’s Brambly Hedge by Jill Barklem 

These books are so charming that they make me want to grow whiskers and become a mouse! The illustrations are really beautiful and it seems that every time I pick up one of these books I see something new! They reflect the English Seasons perfectly and, although I first read these stories as a little girl, I love them even more now.

“Brambly Hedge is on the other side of the stream, across the field. If you can find it, and if you look very hard amongst the tangled roots and stems, you may even see a wisp of smoke from a small chimney, or through an open door, a steep flight of stairs deep within the trunk of a tree. For this is the home of the mice of Brambly Hedge.”

Simple creatures leading happy lives…. this is why Brambly Hedge is so inspiring! 

17 thoughts on “Earth Day Reading Project

  1. Oh…I want to live in Brambly Hedge! I have heard of this book but never got around to reading it. It seems to be another special book that describes a world that I would love to inhabit. Simplicity and the beauty of the earth/garden are very special lessons indeed. I am glad you chose this book so I am reminded to read it. Thank you for participating in The Earth Day Reading Project.

  2. those illustrations are so beautiful, I had forgotten all about these books, my grandmother used to read them to me as a child. Thank you for the trip down memory lane
    -E

  3. Oh, I had completely forgotten Brambly Hedge – I’ll have to see if my folks still have our old copies! I think my favourite was “the secret staircase” where they go into the attic and find the dressing up box, but the seasons are all lovely too (and I see there are newer ones too! I must have decided I was too old for them at some point and stopped keeping up … shame!). The illustrations are absolutely beautiful. I always used to look out hopefully for little doors and windows in amongst the tree roots, but sadly never spotted any in real life :o)

    P.S. you have to look at this … living the dream!! http://mindandlanguage.blogspot.co.uk/2010/11/ultimate-nest-building_30.html

Leave a Reply

