Healthy Weeds

I’ve had such a lovely morning – even the subsequent housework hasn’t dulled the pleasant post-gardening feeling that I’ve been left with! Many of the plants in the small greenhouse were taken out for a taste of fresh air and a good watering of rain. There is likely to be a good frost again tonight so they’ll be nicely tucked up again before night fall. It’s good to know that happiness can be found in such simple things – a cup of tea, a radio and a little shed of tools. Most women treat themselves to a regular manicure… I treat myself by getting soil under my nails!

The Hen House looks lovely through the trees and I can watch the chickens without them realising it! Usually, as soon as the Girls see me approaching they come charging to the gate, flapping and clucking, until they are either fed or let out! The new Girls are settling in well and, although there are two separate groups, there is peace in the Hen House.

The Strawberry Pot is enjoying it’s sheltered location and I’m looking forward to all the lovely Summer recipes. Mmmm…….

Broccoli & Figs
These are both new to me! I’ve grown the Broccoli from seed and I’m so pleased… I hope it survives to adulthood as it’s one of my favourites. The fig tree was bought a couple of weeks ago. I’m not sure whether to plant it against the South facing wall or keep it in a pot so that it can be moved in severe weather. It’s a “Brown Turkey”, so is suited for our climate, but advice would be appreciated from those that know what they’re doing!

I love this little sign and I wanted it the moment I saw it on Etsy.com!

Wouldn’t it be fabulous if every visitor removed a few weeds whilst waiting for you to answer the door? Or, would it tempt you to delay your welcome until a whole patch had been done? Ha ha ha 🙂

On second thoughts… cancel the sign! I would probably lose a lot of valuable seedlings and special plants too! I have to confess that I sometimes have to let weeds grow a little before identifying them properly. This is because I’ve recently been guilty of removing perfectly healthy little plants thinking that they were buttercups and daisies! It’s all part of the learning curve x

13 thoughts on “Healthy Weeds

  1. Your plants all look very happy and healthy. I have a fig a brown turkey (what a weird name). When I bought it the plant was a very healthy young tree like yours then I had a break in they stole my greenhouse – probably for scrap – and while stealing it they smashed up my beautiful plant along with other overwintering plants. I was devastated but my fig has pulled through its ordeal although the main stem was broken off the other branches look to be ok.
    I was told not to plant a fig directly into the ground as they become unmanageable and enormous without producing many fruits. You are suppose to plant them into a large tub or another good tip is to dig a large hole and make a large pot under the ground by laying in paving slabs. 4 for the sides and 1 at the bottom so the roots cant escape and take over the world. They also need lots of water. Only leave on the tiniest young pea sized figs on the plant in Autumn but you have to remove the larger fruit because they will never ripen, apparently figlets grow and ripen in the same year so anything that hasnt grown to full size and ripened has to be removed. I hope this will be of help to you.

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment – this is really helpful advice thank you! I’m sorry to hear about the break in… and I can’t believe they took your greenhouse!

    • Too true! I’ve got bird, slug and aphid deterrents… I’ve even stopped the rabbits in their tracks. However the hail stones came down with a vengeance on Thursday and ruined the rocket! I suppose that’s why polytunnels are so popular!

  2. I get soil under my nails as well. I remember reading that a famous British female landscape designer (I can’t remember her name) would look at the hands of those looking to work for her. You can tell my a person’s hands how much they work in the soil.

    • Thanks for dropping by Jane! I’ve been catching up with your posts and look forward to following your lovely, funny blog too (also not in a stalky way!). Ha ha

  3. ” a cup of tea, a radio and a little shed of tools. Most women treat themselves to a regular manicure… I treat myself by getting soil under my nails!” Preach it sister!

    Love your starts, they look so healthy and lush.

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog – and compliments on yours. Very much like what I’ve seen so far, look forward to reading more.

    I’m also growing broccoli for the first time from seed, and a fig from a cutting I was given, my second attempt. The first was kept in a pot, was fine for over a year then died for no obvious reason. Both cuttings came from a huge tree in a London garden which produces big, succulent figs year after year. So although I was surprised to read the comment about them not producing fruit, the suggestion not to plant them in the ground if you’re limited for space sounds like a good idea.

  5. We’ve just got some broccoli sprouting here too, but we’re headed into winter – it’s a winter crop down here, hows how mild our Sydney winters are! Hope mine look as good as yours do soon. We tried last year, but had only just moved in and the soil wasn’t so great and I think the local possums had a bit of a feast on the young shoots, fingers crossed for this year!

Leave a Reply

