Daffodils Aren’t Herbs

The old lady who lived in the house before us absolutely loved daffodils. She planted them throughout the garden and hedgerows and looked forward each winter to seeing them in Spring. I wanted to continue this tradition, especially as we had to unceremoniously uproot many bulbs during the building work, so I have re-planted some in the Kitchen Garden. The Victorians believed that daffodils were a symbol of regard so this somehow seems appropriate.

Narcissus Tete a Tete

Flowers and vegetables have always loved working together to encourage the bees and butterflies but I’m always careful to keep daffodils and other toxic plants away from edible produce…. if someone poisons me I want to know it was deliberate!!

8 thoughts on “Daffodils Aren’t Herbs

    • Hi Elaine – it’s lovely to hear from you. I don’t have any in my garden yet either so I bought these to brighten up the bureau. I’ll be interested to see how tall they grow as they’re diddy now!

  1. Such cute little daffodils! I love daffodils as well. There are so many different varieties, and they actually grow pretty well in my terrible clay with minimal effort!

    • Thanks Indie – we have clay soil too so I know how difficult it can be to work with. We gave up struggling with the Kitchen Garden, made raised beds and imported top soil. It is heaven! I can simply go and dig a hole without breaking a spade now! The rest of the garden is still back breaking work though… shows you how tough daffodils are!

  2. It’s good to be excited about Spring… your crocus are really lovely (as is your site!). Thank you for dropping by my little blog, it’s not very exotic I’m afraid!!!

  3. Keeping bulbs away from edible produce is pretty important, my mother-in-law once ate a hyacinth bulb that I was chilling in the fridge for forcing. She thought it was some kind of ‘weird’ onion. Thank goodness it only caused an upset stomach, but it’s given us a funny story for family gatherings.

Leave a Reply

