Gingerbread Heaven

Our home faces beautiful woodlands, hills and countryside – we truly count our blessings every day when we look around. Being in the middle of England there is only one thing that we miss and that is water… I can’t believe I’m confessing to this after all the moaning about rain I have done lately!
I had a hankering for Gingerbread and the Lake District is only a couple of hours away by road so we had breakfast and took a drive up there.

We couldn’t believe how quiet it was at Windemere – normally there are loads of tourists but the sun was out and it was really peaceful. It was great just to be able to sit at the edge of the Lake and watch the swans glide by. We played our usual game of “… if I had a boat then I’d have THAT one!” and watched people happily sail off into the distance.

We then headed off to one of my favourite places which is Grasmere famous for William Wordsworth who used to live, work and was finally buried there. There is a really peaceful daffodil garden dedicated to him – we’ve visited here in Spring and the daffodils are so beautiful. It certainly has a different feel in Summer but it’s still a lovely place to sit awhile. Once again, it was so quiet!

Next to the garden is St Oswald’s church where Wordsworth is buried and the old schoolhouse where he used to teach. This became a Gingerbread shop once the school closed down and sells one of the tastiest tea time treats ever! The recipe is a closely guarded secret and has the perfect amount of ginger inside each bite.
The shop is absolutely tiny so anymore than a couple of people queuing is a little overwhelming.

We headed home at the end of the day and there were only two things on my mind….

Gingerbread with a nice cup of tea! I still can’t decide whether the Gingerbread from Grasmere is like a cakey-biscuit or more like a biscuity-cake!?! Who am I to argue with a recipe that is over 150yrs old? Especially when it’s as delicious as this :-)

34 thoughts on “Gingerbread Heaven

  1. Gorgeous photos – thanks for sharing! We visited Grasmere when we were in the Lake District a couple of years ago, and of course came away with some Grasmere Gingerbread. And Dove Cottage’s garden is lovely in the Spring.

  2. Oh, that looks like the perfect day! Such beautiful scenery.

    I love watching swans – we had a pair and their signets circling the island when we were at the cottage recently. They are so serene.. Until the dog swam a little too close and they started honking and slapping their wings on the water.. Then we could see just how big they really were!

  3. Lovely photos! I have never been in your part of Britain…I must confess I haven’t really travelled much even though I have lived in Britain for 13 years, all I have seen is London and the South-East. The lake reminds me of Norway, where I come from :-)

  4. Oh this brings back memories! I went to Grasmere in 1989 while traveling Europe. I stayed at a youth hostel, hiked the nearby hills (met a goat!) and had a lovely time. It is breathtakingly beautiful. I believe the credit goes to Beatrix Potter for her forward thinking plan to purchase and preserve so much of the area. I’ve never seen such clean, clear lake water as I did in this charming town. Thanks for helping me take a trip down memory lane.

  5. The ginerbread sounds delicious – I have only been to the Lake District once and it rained the whole time. Love your photos of the water – you’re right – it looks so peaceful.

  6. Lovely pictures, so peaceful – such luck that there weren’t many people around… I expect the paranoid weathermen put everyone off going out for the day! The forecasts I’ve read sound like the whole country is under water! I love gingerbread and always think it a shame that it is considered a “winter” food here.

    • I used to really dislike ginger as a child but I’m growing quite fond of it now! I especially like ginger & lemon tea which tastes of Summer to me!

  7. Lovely pictures, a taste of home. My parents live up there. And now I need gingerbread too!! But today is Mr Ps birthday and we have a huge cake which needs decorating so there won’t be any gingerbread today.

  8. We were up at Windermere at New Year and it was heavenly then. I guess it was less busy because of the schools not having finished yet. Have never heard of the Grasmere gingerbread but will have to check it out!

    • I think it was quieter because the children are still at school but, even so, there have always been loads of tourists even on wet, damp days in November. Grasmere is very pretty, lots of little tea shops and lovely walks.

  9. What a wonderful day! I’ve always wanted to go to the Lake District. I’d really like to see Beatrice Potters house and garden. I’m heading to England for the first time in March for a wedding. Maybe I’ll have enough time to see some gardens. :) After checking out your last photo, I’m craving gingerbread, too!

  10. That gingerbread must be out of this world if you are willing to travel so far for some! Windermere is usually heaving and driving around there is frustrating, so to find it quiet must have been a rare treat. Well done on getting out and about – a lot of people can’t be bothered to go on day trips in a cold summer.

  11. Grasmere gingerbread is pretty darn good, well worth the drive up. In fact, makes me think it might be worth a nip down to remind myself how good it it is! ;) *wipes drool off chin* Interesting to see that Windermere was quiet, I don’t think I’ve ever known it like that! Though I must say I avoid the central & southern Lakes during the summer as I get too annoyed by all the people. If you want peace and quiet and beautiful scenery try the western lakes, they’re not quite as accessible to coaches! :)

  12. Beautiful photos! I have wondered what the Lake District looked like since I read about Elizabeth’s trip there in Pride and Prejudice! You have also given me a hankering for gingerbread! Wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

